About Us

Ring & Ride Ivybridge & District

We are a charity, run on a not-for-profit basis, relying on contributions from County & District councils and the parishes we serve. We have been providing accessible, affordable transport and services for the local community, supporting increased mobility, social contact and independence, since 1993 we are registered as Ivybridge & District Community Transport Association (IDCTA).

We began by running a single vehicle serving Ivybridge, Cornwood, Lutton and Sparkwell. Over the intervening years our service has grown and we now operate three adapted minibuses and also run a voluntary car scheme serving Ivybridge and its surrounding parishes including Shaugh Prior, Cornwood Sparkwell, Brixton, Wembury, Newton & Noss, Holbeton, Modbury, Yealmpton, Ermington, Ugborough, Diptford, South Brent and Harford.

We operate from an office in The Watermark in Ivybridge and employ a part time Coordinator and Assistant who manage the day to day running of the schemes, assisted by volunteers. We employ part time drivers for the mini buses and rely on volunteers for the car scheme.

The Trustees

The scheme is a registered charity and is a company limited by guarantee. The charity is administered by a voluntary board of trustees who are:

  • David Simpson (Chair)
  • Alan Hutson (Treasurer)
  • Jack Aust (Vice Chair)
  • Andrew Bawn
  • Barbara Crook
  • Peter Tasker
  • Claudi Benzies
  • Clive Mahoney
  • Christine Gunning
  • John Lassan

The trustees are elected at the Annual General Meeting and anyone who has an interest in helping to develop or contribute to our service and become a trustee, is welcome to put their name forward at the AGM. Our coordinator can be contacted during office hours to outline what would be involved.

With thanks

We are funded through grants received from the Devon County Council, South Hams District Council, Parish Councils and donations from other local charities and businesses.

Portworthy Community Benefit Fund & South Dartmoor Community Energy

Councils Charities & Businesses
Ivybridge Town Council
Brixton Parish Council
Cornwood Parish Council
Diptford Parish Council
Ermington Parish Council
Newton & Noss Parish Council
South Brent Parish Council
Sparkwell Parish Council
Ugborough Parish Council
Wembury Parish Council
Yealmpton Parish Council
Maudlyn Trust – Sparkwell
Tesco Express Ivybridge
The Co-op Society
Rotary Club Ivybridge
Yonge Charity
The Portworthy Community Benefit Fund & South Dartmoor Community Energy
The Albert Hunt Trust
The Ivybridge Magazine